Thomas Erskine, Lord Erskine 

Sovereign Grand Commander 1746-1757 

Thomas Erskine, Lord Erskine coat of arms
Thomas Erskine, Lord Erskine
Thomas Erskine, Lord Erskine (1705 – 16 March 1766) was the son of John Erskine, 6th Earl of Mar. He could not inherit the title of Earl of Mar due to the Writ of Attainder for treason passed against his father in 1716 for his role in the First Jacobite Rebellion (1715) (i) 
Medieval and Renaissance English monarchs used acts of attainder to deprive nobles of their lands and often their lives. Once attainted, the descendants of the noble could no longer inherit his lands or income. Attainder essentially amounted to the legal death of the attainder’s family. 
Monarchs typically used attainders against political enemies and those who posed potential threats to the king's position and security. The attainder eliminated any advantage the noble would have in a court of law; nobles were exempt from many of the techniques used to try commoners, including torture. Likewise, in many cases of attainder, the king could coerce the parliament into approving the attainder and there would be a lower or non-existent burden of proof (evidence) than there would be in court.(ii) 
Thomas, Lord Erskine, son of John, 6th and 23rd Earl of Mar was initiated in Lodge Kilwinning Scots Arms, Edinburgh, No.3, in 1736. His name is second on the list of registrations in Grand Lodge made by Kilwinning Scots Arms in 1739. This Lodge had large military personnel and is now defunct. Lord Erskine, being under the shadow of his father's attainder, and being denied succession to the title of Earl of Mar, led the quiet life of a country gentleman and had more time to devote himself to the study of Freemasonry. He was elected Grand Master Mason of Scotland in 1749. This undoubtedly led to a quickening of interest in the Craft in Alloa. Thereafter stray names of Alloa men begin to appear in the minutes of the Lodge of Stirling. Within five years a Depute Lodge was regularly meeting in Alloa. (iii) 
On 1 October 1741, he married Charlotte Hope, daughter of the Charles Hope, 1st Earl of Hopetoun. He died without issue. 
i) Melville Henry Massue Ruvigny Et Raineval (1 January 2003). The Jacobite Peerage, Baronetage, Knightage, and Grants of Honour, Extracted, by Permission, from the Stuart Papers Now in Possession of His Majesty the King at Windsor Castle, and Supplemented by Biographical and Genealogical Notes. Genealogical Publishing Com. pp. 114–5. ISBN 978-0-8063-1716-8. Retrieved 27 September 2013. 
ii) Lander, J. R. (1961). "I. Attainder and Forfeiture, 1453 to 1509". The Historical Journal. 4 (2): 119–151. doi:10.1017/S0018246X0002313X 
iii) James W. Saunders and Robert Wright (1957). The Erskines of Mar and Freemasonry from The History of The Lodge of Alloa No.69 

Find out more about our past Sovereign and Grand Commanders 

Leopold of the Belgians 1914-1972 

Leopold of the Belgians  1914-1972

Robert Hamilton of Hamilton 1900-1914 

Robert Hamilton of Hamilton 1900-1914

Sir Robert Dundas of Arniston 1875-1900 

Robert Dundas of Braxfield 1875-1900

Louis Napoleon 1862-1875 

Louis Napoleon 1862-1875

Archibald Montgomery of Eglinton and Winton 1838-1862 

Archibald Montgomery of Eglinton and Winton 1838-1862

Robert Montgomery of Comber 1825-1838 

Robert Montgomery of Comber 1825-1838

George Beaumont 1815-1825 

George Beaumont 1815-1825

Hugh Montgomery of Grey Abbey 1800-1815 

Hugh Montgomery of Grey Abbey 1800-1815

Maximilian von Hapsburg 1768-1800 

Maximilian von Hapsburg 1768-1800

Alexander Montgomerie of Eglinton 1757-1768 

Alexander Montgomerie of Eglinton 1757-1768

Thomas Erskine Lord Erskine 1746-1757 

John Erskine of Mar 1746-1757

Charles Radclyffe of Derwentwater 1730-1746 

Charles Radclyffe of Derwentwater 1730-1746

John Erskine of Mar 1716-1730 

John Erskine of Mar  1716-1730

Hugh Montgomery of Mount Alexander 1689-1716 

Hugh Montgomery of Mount Alexander 1689-1716

John Graham of Claverhouse 1675-1689 

John Graham of Claverhouse 1675-1689

Henri de la Tour Bouillon 1640-1675 

Henri de la Tour Bouillon 1640-1675

Charles de Guise 1595-1640 

Charles de Guise 1595-1640

Robert de St. Clair 1585-1595 

Robert de St. Clair 1585-1595

David de Seton 1572-1585 

David de Seton 1572-1585

Hugh Montgomerie of Eglinton 1556-1572 

Hugh Montgomerie of Eglinton  1556-1572

Ferrante de Gonzaga 1527-1556 

Ferrante de Gonzaga 1527-1556

Charles de Bourbon-Montpensier 1508-1527 

Charles de Bourbon-Montpensier 1508-1527

Rene de Lorraine 1485-1508 

Rene de Lorraine 1485-1508

FCO. Ludovico Sforza di Milano 1480-1485 

FCO. Ludovico Sforza di Milano 1480-1485

John de Montgomery Grand Commander 1439-1445 

John de Montgomery 1439-1445

Cosimo de Medici Banker & Paymaster 1439-1480 

Cosimo de Medici 1439-1480

Rene I King of Jerusalem and the 2 Sicilies 1439-1480 

Rene I King of Jerusalem and the 2 Sicilies 1439-1480
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings